A poem for you if you’ve ever lost in love or lost someone close: how we remember them

 

SOFT-PADDED FOOTPRINTS

Your laughter hides there, waiting patiently

At the far edges of your mouth,

Ready to possess every pore of your face

From the corners of your crows-feet eyes,

Sweeping gently down those familiar

Lemon-scented, quick, curled lips.

Like soft-padded footprints

Stretched across warm desert sand,

Your smile keeps me company

Long after you have left the room,

Leaving me anticipating your arrival

Emerald eyes pin me where I stand.

Wherever I walk, at all gatherings

Of family clans and meeting friends,

Your laughter walks always with me

Even though photos and memory are

My only evidence left behind

Of your ever being here at all.

 

2 thoughts on “A poem for you if you’ve ever lost in love or lost someone close: how we remember them

  1. Pingback: A poem for you if you’ve ever lost in love or lost someone close: how we remember them | SOCIALinsights

  2. Pingback: A poem for you if you’ve ever lost in love or lost someone close: how we remember them | SOCIALinsights

Comments are closed.